Frustrated and Angry: The Cursed Motherboard.

wingsofzion

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2006
Ok, i've been building systems for 5 years and i have NEVER had this issue. Last year i purhcased parts for a new PC. The three major suspects are the Asus Maximus mobo, soun card, EVGA 8800GTX vid card, Thermaltake Armor case. Everything in the build went fine unitil it came time to put in the Sound Card and video card. When i placed the sound card in first i noticed that once seated into the slot the card didn't align properly with the PCI slot. Looking for the outside is noticed it didnt even touch the expansion bay at all. In order for me to do so i had to bend the card forward for it to stick out of the slot but by doing this the card comes out of it's pci connection slightly to the point where it's crooked. I thought "maybe it's the card" since this was one that came with the mobo, so i seated the graphic's card in... same issue. I unscrewed the mobo and reseated it, checked the spacers to see if anything was off and rescrewed it back in, same issue. The case had these plastic snap on kits for the expansion bays to snap hardware in place, i had to take these off because with the crooked nature on the cards they didnt fit them properly and just caused more issues. I took apart my work PC, the last PC i built, and seated that mobo into the case and saw the same issue again. So after 6 hours of looking staring, cursing, unscrewing/rescrewing and fighting the temptation to drink my sorrows away, i decided to do what i didnt want to do which was bending the cards upwards so they can fit into the expansion slot and screwed them in place. What this did was made the cards look as if they were seated in real crooked and i really was not confortable with this but i had no choice (couldnt RMA the case cause i purchased it new from a store that went out of business 6 months prior).