ECHOSIDE

Distinguished
May 7, 2010
This is my first post on Tom's Hardware, and I'd like to say hi and thank you to the community.

I am a computer newbie, and I hail those of you who not only have the know-how to pick up where the rest of us leave off, but have the courtesy and good will to do so for free.
My hat is off to you.

I bought a Syba PCIE-SATA RAID 5 controller card about three months ago, and for the life of me, I can't get it to work.
Syba SY-PEX40008 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816124027&Tpk=sy-pex%2040008 ; http://www.syba.com/index.php?controller=Product&action=Info&Id=1035

I'm using Windows, and Windows works fine without the device (yellow exclamation point by the RAID controller in device manager) until I install the drivers. 5 to 10 seconds after installing the drivers, I get a "screen freeze" ("hard freeze," mouse and keyboard unresponsive, caps and num locks unresponsive). Windows freezes during boot on every boot thereafter (system restore necessary).
I was initially using Windows XP and have since upgraded to Windows 7, assuming that using new hardware on such an old operating system may have caused the crash. Installing the drivers on Windows 7 produces precisely the same screen freeze.
There are 4 1TB drives configured to a RAID 5 array in the card bios (registering as healthy), all the same brand and model (Maxtor I think).

I have tried:

- Installing the controller card on every single internal PCIE slot

- Changing the IRQ settings in device manager (card claims 10 by default, wanted to switch to 11 but could not figure out how in device manager)

- Swapping the mainboard for a newer one

- booting the card and installing drivers with only one drive attached

- installing 3 different driver packages on Windows 7 x64, each is compatible (Syba x64 inf and sys; SiliconImage x64 inf and sys; Silicon Image x64 software package with automated installer)