Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • Cases
  • Fan
  • Components
Last response: in Components
February 21, 2009 3:04:26 PM

Hi ,

I want to add 3 more case fan to my pc case . I search a lot but all the measure are messed up, some take the noise measure at 1 foot the other at 1 foot but the deduct value because of the ambient noise. I'M not an engineer so sometimes number get confusing. http://img.tomshardware.com/forum/uk/icones/smilies/pt1...

After my search I want to get your input on those one or if you know better one jut let me know. I will have mesh grill and dust filter over them.

120mm
RPM CFM DBA
Thermaltake Silent Wheel 130cm 1400 54.40 16.00
Scythe GentleTyphoon 120mm 1850 58.30 19.80
Arctic Cooling 120mm PWM fan 1500 56.30 24.50

140mm
Scythe KAZE MARU 1200 61.30 26.58

I have one more questions. Did you think it's a good idea to make an hole on a motherboard tray and to put a fan on the side panel just in front of that hole to blow air directly on the other side of CPU... Do you think it's a good idea or it's not worth it

Thanks for all your input/idea/comments I really appreciate

More about : adding 120mm 140 case fan

a b ) Power supply
February 21, 2009 4:37:28 PM

You should visit silentpcreview.com.
a c 248 ) Power supply
February 21, 2009 9:17:12 PM

jive - What pc case do you have?

The three 120 mm fans you mentioned are all high rpm and they create a lot of noise. The 140mm fan will make a little less noise.

A typical compromise is a 120mm fan at about 19 - 22 dba.

My personal preference is the Scythe S-Flex 1200 rpm fan. Everyone has their own personal preferences. Another factor to consider is good airflow. If you can create a good wind tunnel effect then you could use a lower rpm fan that will generate less noise.

One person's quiet fan is another person's jumbo jet engine.

Related resources
a b ) Power supply
February 21, 2009 11:38:00 PM

Have a look at SilenX fans .