Build with Lian Li PC-7B Case

kman7607

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
Hello all,

I am in the process of planning the build of my first computer. I am an engineering student and am going to need this machine to run CAD/Solidworks. I also play some games like StarCraft and other RTS. I am a computer gamer but am by no means a "Hardcore" gamer. I have read reviews and believe that I have come to a conclusion on certain components of the build. I know for a fact that I want to use the PC-7B due to its looks and quality. I welcome any suggestions for the case but I am pretty sure that I want to use this one. The build is planned as follows with "?" next to the parts I have not decided on yet. I would like to keep the cost around $700 to $900.

Case:
Lian Li PC-7B
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811112099

PSU:
Corsair 750 TX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139006

CPU:
Intel Q6600

GFX Card:
HD 4850 or 4870-I am really not sure here- Probably the HD 4850 because it is cheaper

RAM: ?
A good brand name I guess...I havent really given it much thought. I plan to OC eventually, would that effect the RAM timing I choose?
I plan on 4GB to start and an upgrade to 8GB sometime soon.

HD: ?
500 GB Seagate or WD.....Any opinions on the differences btw these brands?
I eventually want to add more HD space but I figured 500GB is a good starting place.

CD Drive:
?

MOBO: ??????
I need some serious help here. I am have absolutely no idea what would be a good mobo. I do plan to OC eventually but nothing too radical. Probably take the q6600 to 3.0 ghz and leave it at that.

Edit: Are their any obvious places where I can save some money? I know the case is a little expensive but I have only heard good things about Lian Li. What would be some alternatives of similar style and quality to the Lian Li?

Thanks in advance

DanielCD

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2007