Low cost NAS solution

craig45

Distinguished
May 11, 2010
Heya, Sorry if my terminology or understanding is slighty off, im kind of new to storage configurations etc.

I'm looking for a low cost NAS solution to store files for the whole household, including Videos, photos, and just be able to use an app similar to Genie Timeline on the PCs to backup files from each one on a regular basis.

I'm highly interested in Freenas, as it seems to do everything i need with a nice GUI also.

I'm looking for;

- A bit of redundancy, Raid 5 or as it is called in ZFS, RAID - Z is it?
- About 2-4 TB of storage which i can expand as time progresses.
- Quite power efficient
- Reasonable performance on a gigabit network.
- Fairly cheap, something that isn't going to break the bank.

And if you guys reccommend it?

- ZFS filesystem for all of these great advantages i've been reading about. And if so, will i seemlessly be able to upgrade the pool (is it called?) when a version of ZFS version 13 is introduced in a stable freenas release, without having to move my data somewhere else.

I have been looking at an D510 atom based mobo, it seems to be highly power efficient compared to the chipset power hungry older model. However if you think a standard motherboard will be best to suit my needs, feel free to point in the right direction.

Cheers, craig.

sub mesa

Distinguished
Yes you can upgrade your ZFS pool from version 6 (FreeNAS) to version 13/14 (FreeBSD8). You cannot downgrade though; so once you upgraded you cannot go back to older FreeNAS releases.

An Atom solution would not have a much lower idle power consumption than a low-power AMD or Intel setup. So if you care about power, look at an efficient PSU instead.

You should use the onboard SATA ports, not any PCI or PCI-X controller cards. You also do not need RAID edition or drives with TLER. If they support TLER, disable it.