Corsair H50 water pump question

thesupermedium

Distinguished
Jul 15, 2009
Hi all,

I'm new to the water cooling scene, and though eventually it might be nice to expand into GPU and RAM liquid cooling, I've decided to start out with the Corsair H50. With the amount of noise my current CPU cooler produces, I have to turn up my speakers when talking on skype and listening to music. On hot days I even have to open the side of my case because the current heatsink dumps hot air in there.

So that is why I'm switching to water cooling, and I plan on purchasing the unit this Friday. Now for the real question: I've heard about a few motherboards throttling the power to the water pump, which lowers the l/h if I am correct. I would like to know, if my motherboard happens to be one of them, which switch I might be looking for in the Bios, and how I'd go about adjusting the voltage. Many searches have turned scarce and confusing answers, so if someone could take a few minutes to just basically tell me what to look for, I would be very thankful.

Solution

Conumdrum

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
I'd start wit the top of this forum. Read up on real watercooling first.

The H50 is a really decent top notch AIR cooler. Yep, it has water, but the rad, pump, and CPU block is just a bit better than a top air cooler.

Think physics for a bit. A small radiator, weak pump, not top class CPU cooler at a LOW price for what you get equals what? The H50.

It's pretty good. But a real WC loop with twicw the radiator area, a pump that will last you for years and able to use bigger flowrates and head pressure, a CPU Block that blows away the H50 ( A top world class block)

It starts at $250, a reall high end CPU only loop is close to $300.