Core i7 vs quad vs duo xtreme DDR3??

venustas

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009
hey everyone,

I am brand new to this forum...and im SURE this is a recycled question, but I am in a bit of a hurry to order a new pc online this weekend (mine is basically dead in the water) and I cannot decide what is best for me.

I am not familiar with overclocking, not necessarily afraid to do so, but I have no knowledge of it at this point...having never tried on older pc's.

So with that said, I am basically looking for what is best, stock (for a lack of better words), for basic home needs and some gaming. Right now its just WoW, at 1920x1080 on a 22" (this is changing to a 26 or 28" at same ratio in about a week). Will play SOME COD 4 and similar games as well.

so far I am between these builds...if anybody has ANY insight or suggestions, they are truly appreciated. I feel dumb and nooby bringing these things up, BUT its the best way to learn i suppose. I AM under a somewhat tight financial constraint...explaining why my three builds are trying to stay around the $800 mark.

thanks again!

Ven

The Third Level

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2009
i7 is going to be considerably more expensive than the others, as the mobos and DDR3 memory is more costly.

A Q6600 should serve your purpose well. I kinda do recommend OCing, and if you do OC a E8500 should serve your purpose fine.

Also look into the PHenom II X3 720 BE, it's amazing performance for the price.

venustas

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2009
i will look into that phenom, i dont know why i was limiting myself to just intels...

also, i just realized i did not post the 3 builds i had set up online, im retarded.

but ill set up a q6600 and e8500 as well as the phenom II and see what they look like...
any suggestions on the builds? necessary memory minimums if i plan to OC? and if i was to order from something like cyberpowerpc.com or one of those "build it for you" sites... just basic cooling/power supplys ok?