Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Water Cooling- what caused your leak or water cooling failure?

Last response: in Overclocking
April 16, 2010 6:20:29 PM

I am new to water cooling and I have been reading a lot of forums, and a lot of people don't post what the cause of there leaks are or what caused there water cooling failure. I think it's good to have a thread where everyone post's there links, that way if a common problem/part pops up, the community can avoid or find a solution to the problem. So, if anyone one has had leaks in the past, please post in here what caused it, and what your solution was, or if you had a pump fail, what happened?

What caused your leak? (or other water cooling failure)

How did you fix it?
April 16, 2010 9:37:31 PM

Well my only leak was caused by my own stupidity. My first attempt at water cooling was a Tt Aquarius II kit. And after using it for 9 month I decided it was time to do a flush and clean. Well in my stupdity I tried flushing the system with a 50/50 mixture of distilled water and 99% pure isopropyl rubbing alcohol. The alcohol caused the acrylic casing of the pump/reservoir to become very brittle, and when I finished flushing the kit and put fresh coolant in it ran fine for a couple weeks. Then the casing cracked all the way through, and it started leaking all over the bottom of the case.

I ended buying a replacement pump/reservoir, and the first chance i had I sold that P.O.S. on craigslist.
Score
a b K Overclocking
April 17, 2010 12:16:01 AM

Built about 12+ loops so far for me/customers. No leaks.

As long as you bled test and don't use cr@p products there won't be leaks.
Score
Related resources
a c 86 K Overclocking
April 17, 2010 3:15:53 AM

I had a dribble or 3 from barbs. usually because they were not tight enough. Had a loose hoseclamp once, tightened it. All of these things were found with EXTENSIVE leak testing before any power except to the pump was applied.