Overclocking in AMD Overdrive Utility question

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Computer
  • AMD
Last response: in Overclocking
April 16, 2010 9:56:14 PM

I am using AMD Overdive Utility on my AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2ghz Black edition processor. I have change my core clock to 4000mhz (4ghz) which I do by making the core multiplier 20x and the clock speed 200mhz, I also turn up the Voltage to 1.55 and when I apply these settings everything seems to be just fine and my temps go up from 24 degrees celcius to 32. So from my knowledge to apply these settings u press apply and change the green dot to one with a red ring around it, but when I got to properties under my computer it still says 3.2ghz and when I restart my computer it resets. Plz help! how do I get it to stay at 4ghz and tell me that under my computer, I'm kinda new at AMD Overdrive.

More about : overclocking amd overdrive utility question

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
April 19, 2010 10:44:54 PM

Welcome to Tom's, Heynow.

AOD is a good tool for establishing parameters for finding what your system is capable of as far as OC'ing, but your far better off doing it through the BIOS.

Setting a OC profile via software on start-up may not be a very good route to go. If your OC fails, you may have 1 L of a time getting back to default settings without doing a reinstall of your OS.
m
l
April 20, 2010 2:28:49 AM

Heynow76 said: