Sign in with
Your question

A question about radiator setup

Last response: in Overclocking
April 19, 2010 3:34:57 AM

I've done the best I can as a complete beginner to liquid cooling. But I still have a few questions that searching online hasn't answered satisfactorily. I'll try to make this concise.

Quick Specs:
Antec 300 Case
Sapphire Radeon 5850
Phenom2 X4 945 (95w tdp)
Gigabyte MA-790GPT-UD3H
Antec Trupower 750

Goals:
- Keep things reasonably quiet (hard to reference – maybe nothing over 30 db?)
- Overclock 5850 (close to 5870 performance)
- Add another 5850 or 5870 when prices are right or performance dictates.
- Add a waterblock to CPU (maybe sooner if it has trouble with 2x5800's)

Problem:
I need advice on the radiator setup

I could use a 360 or 420 (if I have the lingo right) mounted horizontally and off to the side of my case (like an awning) to provide plenty of air flow. Though, I don't know how to mount it outside of the case. I've seen the Swiftech Radbox and the Koolance Rad Bracket - I'm just not convinced those are stable or worth it.

Alternatively, I thought I could start with a single 140mm at the top of my case (for one GPU), then add a 120 to the back (for the 2nd GPU or CPU). Then, if that wasn't enough (for 2x gpu and 1x cpu) I could add another to the door of my case with extra tubing so I could still gently take it off (not certain how good I feel about that). The added benefit is that my case isn't growing in size.

Other parts I am considering:
- Heatkiller GPU-X^3
- EK-Supreme HF - Full Copper
- MCP655 Pump with Variable Speed
- Black Ice GT Stealth 120 and 140 (says it gets the same performance as the Extreme model)
- Yate Loon D12SL-12
- Yate Loon D14SL-14
- Danger Den Single 5.25” Bay Reservoir
- Silver KillCoils (If this is a gimmick, let me know)
- 1/2” Tubing (Need to look into this more)
- Y-Splitters to keep the water going into the blocks “fresh” instead of running from GPU to CPU/GPU.

Guides I've used to get me this far: