System overlock - i7-920, HD 5970 with 750W

Tags:
  • Overclocking
  • Intel i7
  • HD
Last response: in Overclocking
April 19, 2010 6:27:05 PM

Hey y'all,

I recently completed my new rig, and would now like to start pushing it - time to overclock! I'm not looking for a how-to or anything here, but a much more general question - is my PSU sufficient for a good overclock? I'm relatively new to homebuilds and overclocking generally, and while researching the limitations of individual parts is simple enough, it's less clear to me what sort of headroom I have for overclocking my system as a whole. Here are the key specs:

Intel Core i7-920 @ stock, CM Hyper 212+
ASUS P6X58D
6GB G.Skill CL7 at 7-7-7-24 (rated and running at 1.65V - have not tried to maintain speeds with lower voltage)
Sapphire HD 5970 (will never be adding a second card, so no need to consider whether the PSU could handle a tri- or quad-fire configuration)
Spinpoint F3 1TB
Corsair 750TX 750W

When I designed the rig, I had always intended to overclock, but had not predicted that the GPU I would eventually decide on would be the HD 5970. I would like to overclock the CPU to 3.6-3.8GHz, and would like to push the clocks of the HD 5970 up closer to the frequencies of an HD 5870, though I know actually hitting a stable 850/1200mhz overclock would require a voltage tweak. In all areas, I'm looking for a significant, but always stable overclock - I don't feel the need to push my system to its absolute limits, but I'd like it to earn its keep.

Is the 750W sufficient for a solid, but not extreme system overclock? If so, assuming my GPU is itself capable of it, will the 750W handle pushing the HD 5970 back up to stock HD 5870 frequencies?

More about : system overlock 920 5970 750w

a c 296 K Overclocking
April 19, 2010 7:11:04 PM

Hi.

This are the power requirements for the 5970.

ATI Radeon™ HD 5970 System Requirements