Sign in with
Your question
Solved

System Lockup Need Help

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 30, 2008 10:24:59 AM

I have a home built rig that I have been running since April 2007 with the following general specs:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane 2.5GHz Dual Core CPU
Wintec Ampo 2GB (2X1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 800 PC2 6400 Dual Channel Memory
EVGA GeForce 800 GTS 320 MB PCI Express 320-bit GDDR3 GPU
Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7200 RPM Sata 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 534 Mid Tower Case
Corsair 520W ATX 12V v2.2 SLI Certified PSU
Asus DVD+R
Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3 AM2 nVidia GeForce 6100/nForce 430 ATX AMD MB
Windows XP Home Version 2002 SP3

Everything ran fine with the system until yesterday when I started to get video corruption and system lockup after installing a game called Political Machine 2008. The game required installation of another program called Impulse by the developer in order to DL the game updates. That program required my system to have MS Net Framework 2.0 which was included with the DL for the updater.

Once in the game after playing less than 5 minutes I began to see vertical pink or purple lines on my monitor followed by wholesale texture smearing and system hang.

At this point I did not know if the game install and updater caused the issue or this was a mere coincidence to an underlying problem.

Where I am at now: I have uninstalled the previous drivers I had been using 175.19 without a problem, used Driver Cleaner Pro in safe mode and installed 180.48. At first I could take off the side panel from the case and put a desktop fan on my GPU and that did get rid of the artifacts, but the game play still caused a lockup.

Now I cannot start my computer as it boots the OS and I see the desktop for a brief second before I receive a black screen and the system is locked up.