Sign in with
Your question

Newbie question getting the best speeds outta my nas

Last response: in Networking
May 14, 2009 8:29:57 PM

hi as in the title im very new to this and have just purchased a thecus n4100+ what im looking to find out is what is the best way to network it speed wise,

im planning to plug my router into the nas and connected to everything wirelessly but my wireless router is pretty old netgear wgt624 108mbps.

ive seen the nas has gigabite ethernet does this mean i should purchase a gigabite router to get the full potential? if so or not please advise to best set up/ equipment.

sorry if this is a common ask

thanks
May 15, 2009 2:27:17 PM

well gigabit* ethernet is going to be the fastest speed.. but if every computer is wireless your speed will be limited by that.. now the wireless on a N series router which is probably what you would get if you move up to gigabit ethernet router is a faster wireless but only for the computers who have N series wireless cards.. and even then your only going to transfer at not much faster than the 100 meg wired connections.. with your current set up all wireless computers with that directly plugged in you'll probably xfer about 20-30 megabit per second mbps. if you up to a wireless N with gigabit router.. and still have wireless g cards you won't really see a change in speed.. the FASTEST way would be all gigabit wired connections.. that means your ethernet card on the computer cat-5 wires that can handle the speed and the router.. now you can mix and match.. but just remember that the slowest speed from one target device to provider device is the fastest you will transfer.
May 15, 2009 5:47:39 PM

ok sounds good so just to summarise there isnt a wireless router i can buy that will give me gigabit*(thank you) transfers speed of my media between pc and nas? it would only be 100 meg?