Sign in with
Your question

I7920 1366 coolers?

Last response: in Overclocking
April 22, 2010 7:59:55 PM

Hey people, I finally made the move to go ahead and upgrade to a new i7920 system and I'm looking to have a little fun with it. I currently have an e2160 1.8ghz OC to 3.0ghz on the stock cooler running idle temps close to 33-35c. I'm looking to push the i7-920 to atleast 3.4-3.6ghz with an aftermarket cooler, nothing too crazy.

Now I'm completely new to the aftermarkert cooling game, but I've done a little reading on reviews, but I'm still open for any advice and 2nd opinions.

First off, I picked up a budget friendly EVGA mobo and will also be running 6gb of corsair dominator ram.
Here's a link to the motherboard - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I do most of my shopping on newegg and it looks like the Coolermaster V8 seems to be pretty popular along with some of the Zalman series and even the seemingly more expensive Noctua series.. I don't really have a budget, but I definately want something that is efficient as far as price/performance.. Maybe something at or around $50-60 or less? Feel free to recommend anything.

Like I said, I don't plan on doing any crazy OC or tweaking with the 920, so I just need something that can get me by safely and effectively.

More about : i7920 1366 coolers

a b K Overclocking
April 22, 2010 8:11:54 PM

I know you will get a lot of people saying to go for the 212+ for the money. I just don't agree that it is your best option for an i7.

The Prolimatech, NH-D14 or Venomous X would all be good coolers for you system. I think that being on the safe side temperature wise and giving you the opportunity to increase your OC if you desire is worth the couple of extra dollars.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
April 22, 2010 8:30:26 PM

i thing the hyper plus would be great.. i have one and im running my i3 @ 4.0ghz and 1.3v... i get idle temps of about 30 and at max load i get 58 degrees C...