Sign in with
Your question

I installed a new video card on my pc and now it shuts down randomly

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 31, 2008 11:08:12 PM

Hello,

This is my very first time installing a video card onto a motherboard and as a result, need help on what I am doin' wrong

I have recently bought an Axle3d Nvidia Geforce 9500GT and have inserted it into the PCI-E slot. The power supply is a 450W and the motherboard I have is a P965T-A with what I believe is a 2.4 GHZ(not sure if that is the original speed or the overclocked speed) Initial Duo Core processor.

The problem I have with the computer is that after I inserted the 9500GT into the pc and installed the graphics driver that came with the card, the computer now shuts off expectedly; It shuts down right after I turn the PC on, durin the xp logo screen, and up to several minutes into the windows desktop.
I also notice that when I hit restart, the computer jsut shuts off.

The problem happened when I installed the driver the first time and rebooted. After several attempts to boot the pc, the computer was still on when I got to the desktop, which installed the video card driver a second time (it didn't seemed that the driver installed the first time.) Not sure if this was the problem, but both installation times, it said that the driver I had on my pc was more updated than the one on the cd. Also, the 2nd installiation(first time, it installed really quick so I doubt it installed the first time,) it asked me to replace the nv4 files. I said no on the first one (nv4 display It hink), but yes on the dll one. Lastly, durin these at the end of the two installiation, I would get a registry overwrite persmission on two files. I can't remember one of the files (something like foxy or voxy or something?), but the one I can remember was nvcpl.dll