falseg0d

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2010
Call me slow, but I'm just getting into the computer building world (I'm 18) and I have been working on my first real build. I have been creating fantasy builds in my spare time now and then, and just yesterday I stumbled across these SDD drive.
They look absolutely amazing to me, and I have seen them along side a HDD drive in builds, and I'm wondering why have both? I know SDD costs a lot, so a HDD would be good for storage, but what's the point of the SDD then? Wouldn't the information need to be on the SDD?

The SSD is extremely fast, but extremely expensive per GB. So, a lot of people (me included) have an SSD for the operating system to make the computer feel fast and responsive, and a hard drive for files and applications, which take up a lot of space and don't need as much speed.

l_r_c_t

Distinguished
Apr 8, 2009
I think that He meant that he is using the SSD for regular use like surfing the Internet, light weight applications, media etc.

The HDD/SSD is used by many backstage applications that you are probably not aware of.

alexpdx

Distinguished
May 6, 2010

It's a nice comparison but, to be fair, you're pitching a top SSD against a 5400rpm drive. C'mon, at least put it up against a 7200. Still interesting though, thanks!

I've been dinking around on the puter most of the day now and keep finding myself on newegg looking at SSDs. Really trying to behave but they're rather tempting.

Sorry, that's what I had to test with.

But I can tell you right now that even a 7200rpm drive is going to be a LOT closer in performance to the green drive I used than to the SSD.

falseg0d

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2010