5970 OC (is what ive done safe)

abbalinos

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2010
hello everyone,

i just OCed my 5970 through ccc. i went from 725 clock speed to 800 and upped the memory from 1000 to 1100.

i played Age of Conan all last nite without any problem, GPU temperature is ranging from 62-68.

is what i ve done safe? im no OC expert so i thought id ask the community's opinion. and if so can what are the safe limits of OC my card has?

thx for your time.

regards,

fisshy

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2009
as Welsh Says Yes those are safe. but the question is why would you Oc a 5970?

Im not having a go at you but its kinda pointless mate. its the best card on the market. Ocing it is just gonna push your temps up

On watercooling i've seen 5970's @ 1200Mhz And 1500Mhz (GPU/Ram) Brilliantly Fast And uber Cool but still pointless...

Good luck

welshmousepk

Distinguished

not true at all, even a 5970 cant max metro 2033 or crysis and get consistently +60fps. not until overclocked.

plus he could be playing at eyefinity resolutions.

either way, the card id designed for overclocking, so why not get some more frames out of it?

fisshy

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2009
LOL, Ok... yes. i agree im an OCer myself. its just seems pointless unless you are doing something extreme like what you are talking about??? (which would have been nice to know)

abbalinos

Distinguished
Apr 19, 2010
well like i said guys, im playing age of conan on DX10 which is not fully optimized yet, so im trying to bump my fps a little :p

thank you both for your answers :)

rofl_my_waffle

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2010