Sign in with
Your question

RAID 0 Questions

Last response: in Storage
May 26, 2010 7:16:55 AM

Hello, I have a Alienware Aurora i7 920 quad core, i58x chip set with a ICH10R Controller. It came with a 1tb Seagate HD ST310000528AS. That is my only hdd with contains all my info and os on it. I recently bought the same exact drive as the one that was installed from alienware(dell). I am very interested in doing RAID 0 then late configuring it to be RAID 0+1. But since I only have two drives when I RAID them all the info will be erased. I have a WD 1TB external HD, can I use that to put all the info onto my RAID 0? I am new at this and I would like to thank you for your time!

More about : raid questions

May 26, 2010 1:19:53 PM

Sure you can park your informations on the external hard drive.

I do recommend you fresh installing windows though.
a b G Storage
May 26, 2010 3:35:28 PM

Yes, Backup to the external. Use acronis image or ghost or something if you wish. However, as Rofl said it is recommended to reinstall windows.

If you have win7 I assume your bios hd setting is ahci? During the conversion this will change to RAID. However, win7 (and vista I believe) will automatically have the ahci drivers set up but NOT the RAID drivers. You would need to make some changes in your registry and then the bios and setup win7 properly BEFORE the conversion or it just won't work after. If you want to do this and boot win7 from this stripe you should research the change. I think the registry setting you can Google is msahci.

However, you have a beautiful alienware machine. Why not use an SSD for boot drive? Few spinning RAID 0's will perform as well as a cheap SSD. And none will access as fast. Use the RAID 0 / future Raid 0+1 for work, games, files, etc.
Related resources
May 26, 2010 8:55:16 PM

I am not familiar with SSD Drvies but I will look into them for sure. I am a little nervous about messing up my computer during the RAID 0 Transfer. And yes I do have Win 7.