Why is my i7 920 cpu temperature VERY high?

haterade2009

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2009
Hey folks -

I just recently finished building my new PC. I installed all the hardware carefully and properly (to my knowledge) and it booted up on first try... I installed Windows, etc etc, and everything looked to be good. Now I decided I'm ready to slightly overclock it, but when I go to the BIOS and look at the CPU temperature, it is absurdly high... Around 100*C... The system temperature and everything is good, around 26*C on start up, just the CPU is way too hot...

I reinstalled the CPU and the aftermarket heat sink multiple times, each time carefully removing all the thermal grease, and trying with varying tiny amounts... But same result each time... Then I tried the stock heat sink, and it was around 120*C....

I'm not quite sure what is wrong... I'm still somewhat new at all of this. Any help would be appreciated, :) Thanks!

Processor: Intel i7 920
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P
CPU Fan: XIGMATEK Dark Knight-S1283V
Thermal grease: ARCTIC COOLING MX-2
Memory: G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333
Power Supply: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W

Mondoman

Splendid
If your BIOS doesn't know the proper calibration values for the i7's thermal sensors, it will give an incorrect reading. Download CoreTemp, RealTemp, etc, which also report the internal temps of the CPU's cores in degrees below limit temp. That way, you'll know what temp the CPU thinks it is. 120C should have caused your CPU to fry or shut itself down, but be careful and don't use the computer (except for installing and running the temp software) until you are sure everything's OK.

haterade2009

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2009