Sign in with
Your question

!!! I changed my Mem timings. Now win 7 ult resets after a few seconds

Last response: in Overclocking
May 3, 2010 2:28:01 AM

So I gave it a shot. Ive been wanting to change my mem timings from 4 4 4 12 to something else. So i dled Memset fiddled with the timings, from the default 4 4 4 12 to 4 6 6 13 and that didnt work. it reset itself immediately. but i was still able to boot into windows. I finally got it stable at 4 5 5 15 and it stayed that way for maybe half an hour. the temp felt fine in the case. so i thought i had done it. i then dled temp fan to check if the modules were overheating but, not surprisingly my old piece of **** dell didnt have the hardware to allow it to monitor the heat. so i started playing with settings. i dont think i changed anything and didnt change it back. but soon after i was checking the ram speeds in cpu-z snd noticed the timings were way off. later, even some of the timings were missing. then my pc shuts off and reboots. i try to boot using safe mode. but when i try to enter memset but my pc screen just blossomed into pixels and boxes. i then ran "windows memory diagnostic tool" and to no luck. So. anyone with advice how to get my sorry ass out of this predicament ? BTW im using a shitty 3 yr old dell. stock everything other than the mem. pentium 4 HT 2.99 Ghz.
plz and thank u !!
a b K Overclocking
May 3, 2010 2:43:05 AM

First off, raising memory timings would actually make it run slower, not faster, and I'm not sure why it would crash after raising them, as it would put less stress on the modules.

Also, memory modules are specc'ed to run at certain timings, and although some will let you lower them on the same voltage, others won't, and, I'm assuming you're still using the RAM that came with the computer, Dell isn't about to throw in parts that can be used outside of spec.