Beginner i7 920 overclocking

jayhawker2

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2010
I recently built my first computer with the following components based off a lot of information i got from this website.

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 920 D0 stepping
MSI Radeon 5970
Zalman CNPS9900 cooler
Antec Quattro 1000w PSU
Corsair XMS3 TR3X6G1600C8 6GB
2x 500GB Western Digital Caviar Black Hard drives
Thermaltake Element V case

Before i start off i would like to apologize in advance for posting another noob OC'ing topic. Im sure you OC veterans get this type of question enough when there are how to's out there already (found one exactly like mine but it was cached on google and gone the next day unfortunately). I just am better with figuring out complex areas when i have specific questions answered which is why i am posting here because it is such a quality website.

Anyways, I am completely new to overclocking i7's as i only knew basic OC'ing from my old dual core computer which i did not attempt much with. I am very tempted to overclock my CPU based on the fact that it seems many people are getting high clock speeds with the 920 quite easily (i was only looking to get to 3.4 or so) and also because im pretty sure that i am bottle-necking my video card based on comparing similar benchmarks and whatnot. I was looking for some general BIOS values that people have used in a similar situation to mine just in text or screenshots would be awesome if that is possible.

Other specific questions that would help me greatly in starting would be:

1. What do you guys recommended for temp monitoring software and what are some good temps to have at my target Overclock
2. For the amount that i am going to OC, is overclocking the memory necessary, and if so, how is this accomplished (no experience doing this)
3. If you guys used a quality how to for your own OC'ing that is similar to mine or just in general that explains it really well, what is the link to it.