Memory upgrade

9unicorns

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2009
Hi
I am new to all this (1st forum - 1st. post!) Please help.
I have an AcerPower 8 computer running Vista Home Premium, computer one yr. old.
It has 4 memory slots numbers 1 & 2 came from manufacturer with 512MB DDR2 (PC2-5300) 333Mhz (DDR2 667)in each.
The manufacturer says this computer can take up to 4GB of memory.
So I purchased another 2x1GB memory. When I inserted one 1GB stick into slot 3 my computer works fine & it recognises the extra memory (total now 2GB). However when I try to insert the second new stick into slot 4 my computer will now boot up and just constantly bleeps & the screen just shows a speckly snow storm. When I remove the stick from slot 4, computer works fine again. Both new sticks were purchased together & are identical. I have tried rearranging different sticks in different slots but no luck when all 4 slots are used.
SIW shows all the memory timings, frequencies etc. on the new stick are identical to the manufacturers sticks.
Motherboard is an Acer EM61SM/EM61PM.
CPU AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+
Memory: Maximum Capacity 16384 MBytes
Maximum Memory Module Size 4096 MBytes
Memory Slots 4
Error Correction None
I hope I have given enough information.
I would appreciate any help.
Many thanks
9unicorns

Fuster33

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2009
Here are some possibilities:
-The second stick you added (the one you placed into the fourth slot first) may be faulty
-The fourth slot of your motherboard may be faulty

Can you try the stick on another computer? If it works there then it could be your motherboard. If it doesn't then your memory might be faulty. It happens.