Asus P6T Deluxe v2 failure rate

belial2k

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2009
I'm a system builder, and I order most of my parts from newegg. In my i7 systems I have been using the Asus p6t deluxe v2 for almost all my builds, but lately I've had over 50% failure rate with the boards. This is over the last month and over 27 units. I'm just wondering if other builders are getting the same failure rate, or if I just got a really bad batch. Its so bad at this point I'm ready to switch to another board, but I'm not sure which one to move to. I need boards that overclock well (4.0 ghz on the 920 with liquid cooling) and have dual lans. Of course, they have to support at least 2 video cards in full x16 mode also. I'm thinking of trying the Asrock supercomputer x58. Any comments or suggestions from people who are having similar problems or have a great MB they've used for a lot of builds will help.

Mistoffeles

Distinguished
Aug 9, 2006

I love evga motherboards, they are rock solid. Haven't any experience with their i7 boards specifically, but everything I've ever used from them has been excellent. I even got a personal call from the European office when I submitted a question on the US site (since there is no Canadian site) during off-hours.

jle617

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2009
I hope I do not have a faulty board or it could just be that I am slightly new to the intel/asus set up. (I have used AMD's in the past.)

My new setup:
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
Intel i7 920 w/ Cooler Master V8
6GB of 1866 Corsair Dominators
Corsair 750tx
BFG GTX 295
Xclio windtunnel
1TB Samsung F1 Spinpoint

For some strange reason I cant seem to pass prime95.

@auto CPU vcore = 1.05 Fails 8thread prime95 after 20mins Worker#7 stopped.
@CPU vcore = 1.2v Fails 8 thread prime95 after 50mins Worker #1 and #7.

My system is running all stock HT on, no Speedstepping, Turbo v, or Epu-6.