Faulty MOBO? Faulty PSU? $1000 paper weight!

xenzaka

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2008
This is my first build.

The Components
CPU: AMD Phenom X4 9950BE 2.6Ghz @ 125w
PSU: Antec 500W Neo-HE
MOBO: ASUS Crosshair II Formula
SATA1: 1TB Seagate HDD 7200RPM
SATA2: 200GB Maxtor HDD 7200RPM
SATA3: ASUS DVD/CD Reader combo
RAM: 4 x 1024MB OCZ Fatal1ty @ 1066MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Sound Blaster
Video: Onboard

The Problem
I can get the system to usually post, at most times.

I can enter the bios.

The bios is fully updated.

Bios recognizes all components. All are compatible.

I successfully installed Vista-64 for some reason last night; ONLY because I had the DVD drive and 200G HDD going, nothing else.

When the system crashes, it's almost an instant "click" and everything dies, all fans, everything but the LEDs located on the motherboard. I can then easily restart it.

It seems that if I unplug everything it can run stable in bios set-up, or post, lcd view.

I don't understand what this could be, the deathly crashes happen frequently and sporatically. It's rare to actually get the computer to boot with both the DVD drive and HDD and stay running for a while before all crashes and then, dies.

I hope this isn't due to my MOBO and it's a faulty PSU. I've tried many things.

Any ideas?

Thanks for all and any time on helping me :) very appreciated!

There's a good chance that you have a flaky power supply.

What could be happening is that the 12 volt rail is dropping out under load. When this happens, a control signal from the PSU called something like "PowerOK" goes low (5 volts to 0 volts). This forces the CPU to reset.

xenzaka

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2008
All right, I might try to play around with it more (spent over 2-3 good solid hours on it by now) but as far as deducing has gone, it sounds like I'll have to replace the PSU.

ZOldDude

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2006