Sign in with
Your question

Setup for new ssd

Last response: in Storage
June 2, 2010 2:00:13 PM

I have just ordered a new SSD for my desktop system, and would like to prepare for its arrival. I built my current rig, but I am still a newbie as far as hardware is concerned. I'm not at home now, but I assume that since I have a single hdd now, it is running in IDE mode. After reading about ssd, it seems that they should always be run as ahci. I plan to do a fresh install of windows 7 on the ssd, and I think i'll be able to fit all of my data on the new ssd (though i probably wont migrate everything over). I feel pretty comfortable with the steps i need to take to get the current system running in ahci mode. I currently have a 120gb hdd and the incoming ssd is 64 gb. I have a few questions about getting everything setup:

1. I don't understand exactly what raid is, and if it would be beneficial to use it with a ssd and hdd. should i be using raid with the 2 drives?

2. how should i go about installing everything?

My current plan is to get the current system running in ahci, then plug in only the ssd and install win7, then reconnect the other hdd, then...?

3. can both drives be accessed without raid?

if anyone has any advice for me, it would be greatly appreciated.

thanks.

More about : setup ssd

a b G Storage
June 2, 2010 6:34:05 PM

1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RAID, no you wont use it
2. read the motherboard manual
3. yes, hopefully you have SATA connectors as well as IDE

Advice: do more research on your existing hardware capabilities before making purchases
m
l
Related resources
a b G Storage
June 3, 2010 2:49:01 PM

What makes you think you need a seperate SATA controller card?
Read your motherboard manual. You are getting ahead of yourself.
m
l
June 3, 2010 2:51:32 PM

I read the manual, and it appears to not have the option of AHCI. This card looks like it would give me that option.
m
l
a b G Storage
June 3, 2010 3:23:11 PM