How hard is it to build a computer?

Whitemilk661

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2008
Hi!

First off I've never built a computer before. My computer knowledge isn't that great either, I mean I know a few things, but for the most part I'm still pretty new. I just bought a whole new system with the EVGA X58 mobo, i7 920, 6gb 3X2 1600 g.skill RAM at 9-9-9-24, 1000w corsair PSU, 1TB WD caviar black HD, thermalright ultra 120 extreme and the NZXT guardian case.

Can I save myself a few hundred dollars and try and put this thing together myself safely? Is this doable with the instructions? Also, I hope to maybe one day OC in the future when I learn a lot more about my CPU. If I do a poor job putting it together, will I have a much larger risk of destroying my system OCing?

Thanks to all who reply, I'm very stressed about this.

The hardest part really is matching the components. There are plenty of people here willing to help with that. *note the millions of rate my build post*. Putting the actual machine together is easy cakes.

How much are you paying for the prebuilt unit?

teh_boxzor

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2007
most motherboard manuals tell you which part goes where and which jumpers to place on the mobo.

for other stuff i.e. installing a heatsink the manual also gives instructions on how to install the heatsink and spread the thermal paste.

If you're capable of reading you should be able to put a system together. There's really not much to it. Just be sure to take your time and always discharge static electricity before handling components. If you get stuck or aren't sure of something - don't guess, the motherboard manual is your friend. A little common sense goes a long way too. :)

montyuk

Distinguished
Oct 22, 2008
and for that i would say dont rush to get it all fitted together within 30 minutes, take your time, plan where wires and cables are going to go.