Request For Some Advice/Help With My Latest Build!

Badass1982

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2009
Hi i was just wondering if somebody could tell me if this system will fit together successfully i am a competent PC Builder however im not convinced i am correct with the sizes of each part mainly the gpu's to fit my mobo so i will list the components i am trying to put into this system (so far i have only purchased the full tower case and creative x fi titanium fatality soundcard!) and would very much appreciate some advice as to weather these components will fit without being in the way as i desire high air flow at first (before i decide to purchase a water cooling kit)

Thanks and here goes

CASE: COOLERMASTER ATCS 840

CPU: CORE I7 EXTREME EDITION 965

MOBO: MSI ECLIPSE X58 SLI or ASUS CLASSIFIED X58 (am torn between these but heard the x fi drivers dont have to be activated on the MSI and also the ASUS only has support for 12 GB RAM instead of 24GB)

RAM: 12GB (TR3X6G2000C7GTF - DOMINATOR GT, 6GB (3x2GB), 2000MHz, 7-8-7-20) x2

SOUNDCARD: CREATIVE LABS SOUNDBLASTER X FI TITANIUM FATALITY 7.1

GPU'S:EVGA GEFORCE GTX 295 1792MB X2

PSU:COOLMAX CUQ-1350B ATX 12V V2.2/ EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS CERTIFIED

HDD 1&2: WESTERN DIGITAL VELOCIRAPTOR WD3000HLFS 300GB 10000RPM X2

HDD 3&4&5: SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200RPM X3

MONITOR: GATEWAY XHD3000

OPTICAL DRIVE 1: LG BLACK SUPER MULTI BLU RAY BURNER GGW-H20L

OPTICAL DRIVE 2: THE SAME AS ABOVE

CPU HEATSINK: ZALMAN CNPS9700 LED

CPU HEATSINK BRACKET: ZALMAN ZM-CS4A SOCKET 1366 CLIP SUPPORT KIT

r_manic

Administrator
Ok, thanks for making me drool.

Stupid questions:

1. Will you be using an OS that can see all twelve GB of your RAM? (32-bit OSes won't)
2. Do you really need a dedicated sound card? Using the audio hardware integrated with the motherboard is usually enough for all purposes.
3. Two Blu-Ray Burners?!? Will you be duplicating Blu-Ray discs regularly?