Testing unlocked PII x4 b35 stability

luciferleigh

Distinguished
May 26, 2009
first off, this is my first try unlocking a core, secondly my first try trying to test for stability (been running a 5 year old pentium 4 till now), thirdly this is my first amd based pc, so bear with me

and yes ive read the countless threads about it and searched for a while, but i guess im doing it wrong xD

anyway, essentials are as follows:

Asrock n68c-s UCC
athlon x3 435
2gb (1 stick) kingston ram (10600 CL9)

now from the mobo's website there are quite simple instructions on unlocking cores, and so i followed them and ended up with phenom II x4 b35 (6mb L3 cache if thats relevant), now my dilemma is that speed fan now doesnt read core temps (it did when it was a x3) will go and DL an updated version in a while, and while reading around ive come across threads saying to test it with prime95, downloading it atm, but a short newbie guide for it would be appreciated (link?), and ive come across memtest as well, and i will try that later, so a beginners guide for that would be very helpful as well

thanks in advance to anyone that can help,

lala

Hi, I'm also newish to clocking, but ive been running an unlocked 435 at 3.5Ghz for about 2 months now, no problems at all, temps are good, no freezing or bsod's If you have amd overdrive theres a stability tester on there as well but bear in mind prime95, amd stability test and all other programs like that are pushing your set up to its limit, thereby shortening the lifespan and possibly leading to problems, others may advise you differently and thats cool, but personally I turn it on, it works, theres my stability test right there :)

The prime95 test you'll be interested is the large FFT test. Depending on the "level of stability" run the test from 4-24 hours. If a prime test were to significantly shorten the life of your CPU, you have overclocked too far as running calculations is the point of a processor.

luciferleigh

Distinguished