I7 920 D0 Stock Heating issue...with Megahalem

eylee86

Distinguished
Jul 13, 2008
Hi as the title says i Have an I7 920 CPU(D0 stepping) running at stock speed. I've been using this computer for about 6 months and I just decided to run Prime 95 out of whim.

I'm using Prolimatech Megahalem with AC5 with 1 Scythe S-Flex Fan. On my real temp, it shows that my idle is ~46,45,46,42. with Prime 95. the temperature reached 70 degrees and I decided to stop the test. I thought the temperature was little too high for a highend cooler...

The voltage shows that it's running at 1.223V.

What are my options here in order to improve this temperature?

There are couple things I thought of but just wanted to run by the forum beforehand!

1) clean/reseat the heatsink (which I faintly remember after that I thought about it. the heatsink after the installing seemed to very slightly(almost not noticeable if you don't look closely) leaning...I wasn't too positive but just to make sure I reseated it couple times just to find the same result...and it's been the same way since. Has anyone experienced such case? Could it has to do with my bad temp?
2)Lower the voltage? I heard some cases that this could help. but I wasn't sure what the standard temperature I should be expecting if I'm running it at 1.223V.
3)make the fan setup push/pull...etc.

Let me know what you guys think!

Thanks.

I own a Prolimatech Megashadow, which is really a black Megahalems, and there are two things I suggest:

- I think you may have used either too little or two much thermal paste, a pea sized drop of TIM is enough. Make sure that the cooler is evenly screwed down on both sides.

- You could lower the voltage, to something like 1.1V for now and then test for stability.

- Well, I don't think a push/pull setup would help too much in this case, if the CPU is too hot and not transferring enough heat to the cooler, there's not much of a point adding more fans to the Megahalems.

Conumdrum

Distinguished