Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Watercooling set up

Last response: in Overclocking
May 10, 2010 11:27:47 PM

So I am new to watercooling, I read the post on here about watercooling but I am still unsure of some things. I have two GTX 480's that I want to be watercooled. I want to have a separate loop for the graphic cards and a separate loop for the CPU. Im thinking about adding a waterblock to the chipset, but im assuming that can run off of the CPU loop just fine? I know I will need two radiators to achieve optimum cooling, so what size should I get for the graphic cards? Would two 120.3 rads be good for both loops? and half inch tubing? I am also unsure about what kind of pump will be good enough for this setup.

Sorry for all the questions, like I said I am new to watercooling, plus the GTX 480's just came out so there is not alot of research that can be doneon watercooled GTX 480's.

More about : watercooling set

a b K Overclocking
May 11, 2010 12:56:20 AM

I'd get a 420/480 rad for the SLId 480s and a single 320 for the CPU. List full specs.
Score
May 11, 2010 1:57:27 AM

Core i7 950 at 3.8Ghz, would like to go higher once its water cooled
12 gigs of DDR3 1600
2 GTX 480's
EVGA SLI Classified
2 intel X-25 M in raid 0
1 WD Caviar Black 1TB
Thermaltake 1200 Watt PSU
Thermaltake Speedo Advantage Case

Do you mean a 420 or a 480 rad for the graphic cards? you confused me when you said a "single" 320 for the CPU.
Score
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
May 11, 2010 2:30:17 AM

Do you have space for two loops? It would mean double pump and double reservoirs for not so much performance.

A strong pump can move water so fast that it barely heats up after passing through blocks, the difference would be 1-3C, which I don't think is worth it.

Getting watercooling can drop a card from 90C down to 30C-40C, why go through the trouble for a meager increase. Not to mention pumps aren't dead silent.