Your question

I think I'm in over my head

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
December 17, 2008 1:45:36 PM

I have been collecting parts to try and build a cheap secondary PC

recently ( last 2 weeks) I have bought a few parts from Newegg and this weekend put it all together.
This is my first time trying from scratch

AMD 64 X2 5000+ @ 2.6
Foxconn A7VMX-K board
Antec EA500 (was in use in home PC for 7800 gt)
gskill 4 gb (2x2) pc6400 5-5-5-15
seagate 250gb hdd
LG dvd burner
Asus 7800 gt vid card (pci-e)

well it seems that after assembly I cannot get any power to anything! (except I did notice the 3 lights on the keyboard come on then off)

I do not have a speaker set up on the system yet so no beeps and no lights to verify issues or not.

anyone have any idea other than what i think has happened --- DOA board :pfff: 

More about : head

December 17, 2008 1:59:17 PM

Are you sure you didn't make the very common mistake of forgetting to plug in the 4-pin CPU power connector as well as the 24-pin motherboard power connector? The 4-pin CPU power connector is located near the CPU socket.
December 17, 2008 2:20:45 PM

Also.........is the Mobo on risers? if not....that may be a problem.

I agree with shortstuff, check your connections of power.

-PM
Related resources
December 17, 2008 3:05:05 PM

if keyboards light up, did the power supply fan turned?
December 17, 2008 4:09:28 PM

Thanks for the responses and yes I have the mobo on standoffs ( also made sure none were in wrong areas to short it out)

yes plugged in 4 pin mobo pwersupply as well as the 24 pin supply

no the fan on the power supply does not turn on nor make any noise at all

I did use a paperclip to check a fan ( inserted into green lead and a black one, fan powered up and ran fine - still no fan on power suplly starting though)
December 17, 2008 4:29:11 PM