Sign in with
Your question

Phenom Quad Overclock 2.6 to 3.2

Last response: in Overclocking
May 11, 2010 10:12:27 PM

Hey all i am a noob to overclocking, never really done it, I was wondering it was safe to overclock my AMD quad from 2.6 to 3.2.

What do i need to know? I use a 650W PSU and a Asus M3N72-D mobo.

More about : phenom quad overclock

May 12, 2010 1:11:11 AM

ummmm care to tell us what CPU you have?
m
l
a c 228 K Overclocking
May 12, 2010 2:40:24 AM

Probably a Phenom 9950
m
l
Related resources
May 12, 2010 3:52:47 AM

Yes it is a 9550. Sorry was at work so i couldn't remember the name.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
May 12, 2010 8:17:37 AM

Depends on how you define "safe".

Chances are you won't kill anything.. but I've seen many people make small mistakes and kill their chip or motherboard.. so it's only if the risk is worth the gain that you could class it as safe I guess.

But yeah.. the 9950 should be able to run at 3.2 without any problems. As far as I know you should be able to clock your CPU at 3.0 without having to play with voltages but if you get to that point and start having issues.. freezing, boot fails etc then the only way to make your chip stable is to give it more juice.. and that's when people can kill their hardware.

There are loads of overclocking tutorials already on the forum and they're much better than what I could write out. Give it a quick search and post here again if you have any issues.
m
l
a c 228 K Overclocking
May 12, 2010 11:34:04 AM

The 9950 will easily run 3.2G rock solid, but not on stock air cooling, you'll need a descent aftermarket air cooling solution, to keep it as cool as possible.

m
l
May 12, 2010 4:01:19 PM

Thank you, two more questions. How high do you think the 9950 can run 'safely' or should is 3.2 good enough? Also what is a good aftermarket cooler that you recommend? I use a full ATX case that is huge...and heavy.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
May 12, 2010 4:43:20 PM