Sign in with
Your question

Power for SUPER X5DPA-TGM+ w/ 2 Xeon Processors

Last response: in Components
March 14, 2009 7:12:39 PM

Hi,

This is my first time ever posting so hopefully I can explain it right. My very good friend decided to give me one of his servers that he bought about 4 years ago from SuperMicro. The board is SUPER X5DPA-TGM+ and has two Xeon Processors running at 2.66ghz that is about all I got before the computer shut down. He said the computer is supposed to run faster but right now only has 1GB of DDR/ECC memory in it and it is (PC 2100) I think 266 MHZ.

Here is the issue, the power supply in there is a 430W InWin 20Pin with a 4Pin CPU connector. From what I can tell looking at the board this supply is not right for this machine at all. I did a bit of research and know I need a 24pin w/ an 8pin CPU connector but what I am not sure about is the wattage. I mean this thing is HUGE!

It had a DVD Rom in it but I guess there were cooling problems because a disc was stuck in there and literally melted... odd?

Does anyone have any recommendations on a power supply? I am going to be putting 2GB more of memory in it so I don't know if that makes a difference.

Thanks so much for your help!

MR :o 
March 16, 2009 11:57:10 AM

Welcome to the forums!

You need a power supply with 24 amps on the 12v rails.
Server power supplies are different from Desktop power supplies.
Not sure which one you need.
March 16, 2009 2:06:48 PM

So, it has to be separate rails for each 12V. It cannot be combined 12V. Like with the ATX12V/EPS12V combo Power Supply they have it on a combined rail. The rail thing makes it even more confusing but I think I am getting it now thanks to what your advice! Thank you so much for your help!

Related resources
March 17, 2009 11:17:59 AM

It can be separate rails as long as the combined total wattage on the 12v rails is at least 288.
Anonymous
a b ) Power supply
June 24, 2010 5:49:40 PM