Upgrade Pentium 4 to Quad or i7...?

Grant1872x

Distinguished
Oct 4, 2008
Hi I have a pentium 4 cpu at a crappy 3.06ghz :pfff: and want to upgrade to quad-core, core i7 or any AMD equivalent like Phenom. What sort of mobo am I looking for and what prices? What requirements...? (I'm from the UK) any good websites you know of?

kosimov

Distinguished
May 19, 2009

I am interested in this also, however, I want to do it in a laptop (Toshiba Satellite 2455-s305 P4 ~2.6 GHz 533 MHz L1,L2=??). I would be content to get duo or quad CPU at same clock rate. I am a design engineer so I know the purely technical side of this, however, I don't know anything about the various CPU's available, how they compare and trade off, etc.

Since there are laptops now being sold for a few hundred dollars with pretty decent performance, I would not want to spend more than, perhaps, $200, and would probably not be able to find a mother board to replace mine. I don't know if this is worth doing, or even possible...... I don't want to spend too much now because I would rather save up and buy a workstation level laptop later on. My application is that I run very technical engineering design software which really needs more speed than I presently get with this laptop, even though it was a good, top performing laptop when I originally bought it, it is slow now relative to what can be had with CPU's at similar clock speeds but with HT and multiple cores, etc.

I run software such as Mathcad, Matlab, Simulink, various VHDL programs (chip design), etc. I am the CEO and CTO of a startup. I don't have much of a budget to work with right now as we have not obtained our funding yet; the economy prevented that from happening, just at the last minute. Hence, my needs greatly exceed my reach for now, unless I can find some way to improve this laptop.