ASUS P6T no hard drive found

jenealogy

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2009
Just built a computer and hooked the SATA (red) cable to SATA1 on the mobo to my hard drive and DVD R/W to the SATA2. In BIOS it sees both, but as it is loading up I get the message (very quickly before it disappears) "detect drives done, no drive found". What am I doing wrong? This is my first time with a mobo with SATA. I have the driver CD that came with the mobo. When do I put that in? In the past with XP I just booted up, put in the OS and off I went. I'd like to load my Vista Home Premium 64bit, but if it can't see the hard drive, I think I have a problem . . .

grandpa

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2009

Haven't got a solution for you, friend, but I do have the exact same problem with my hard drive. Changed BIOS to AHCI and got black screen (did muck aound with some other settings, Q-Fan and disabled Floppy {haven't got one}. Back to default, no problem except Vista acts like it's loading my programs, but won't play them.

chinh_n

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2008
jeanealogy,

There is nothing wrong with your system. The no drives detected that you see is the jmicron ide controller on the board. if you have no ide drives connected then it shows no drive detected. it does not detect your sata drives because its on a different controller.

Grandpa,
you can't just turn to AHCI mode without first loading the drivers for it. thats the reason why you getting the black screen. if you want to go with AHCI mode, you will need to reinstall windows and load AHCI drivers during windows installation.

HOPE THIS HELP YOU GUYS!! :)

grandpa

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2009
Thanks for the leads, guys. Power's good. But I don't remember Vista asking me about HD drivers but I'm going to un and re install and will put down my drink this time.