topsgte8

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2008
I am a first time builder. After assembling my components I Did not get any video output. Looking at my graphics card i got 3 error lights which came on immediately and primary and secondary power failure. I have replaced the video card once. All of my other peripherals seem to be powered up properly. The manufacturer has so far been useless in helping.

System info:
gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 motherboard
intel e8500 cpu
silverstone 750w psu
gigabyte ati hd 4870 512mb video card
crucial 2x2gb ddr2 1066 (PC 8500) memory

I am way beyond frustrated at this point any help would be appreciated.

in the bios somewhere it should say something inre to "load optimized defaults" or something like that. did you try that ? And if you did/do don't forget to save it and then reboot. Did you try with 1 stick of ram ? is the card in the top pci-e slot ? did you try swapping ? Can you try a different power supply ? Did you swap video connections on the back of the card ?

Clear the CMOS RAM. Your motherboard manual will tell you how. Make sure the HSF is properly installed. Turn on your PC. If it's still broke, continue on.

Disconnect and unplug everything but the PSU, CPU & HSF, power & reset switches, and the system speaker from the motherboard. When you turn on the PC, you should hear a series of long single beeps. This will indicate a memory failure. (You do not have any memory installed, remember?)

If you get silence, either the PSU, motherboard, or CPU is bad. One other possibility is that you have something installed improperly in the case and it's shorting out the PSU. The only practical way to determine which is bad is to test by substitution. Most likely failure (in order) is PSU, motherboard, and CPU.