Sign in with
Your question

Intel SSDs in Raid0 - Long term use

Last response: in Storage
June 9, 2010 2:47:39 PM

This question is more practical than my previous ones on SSDs,

My budget is ~$450, and I've been told in many ways that Intel's SSDs are superior to those of any other manufacturer if you include price as well as performance in the mix. Since I'm still a noob, I'll accept this.

I'll need about 160Gb of space, so this leaves me with two options:

1x Intel X25-M 160Gb
2x Intel X25-M 80Gb in Raid0.

I know how fast SSDs can be when you pull them out of the box, but my question here is which of these two options will yield the highest speed after months of usage being, say, 70-80% full?

I am undecided because I have seen excellent performance scaling with SSDs in raid, but they don't support TRIM while in raid, so performance loss is inevitable... the issue is really if heavy usage will drag the performance of the array below the level of the 160Gb drive.

You might be inclined to reply with "it depends on how you use the drive", to which I will say the drive will be used for Windows 7, apps & games and will be used every day. Once the drive has started to fill up, writing to the drive will be done rarely, but will inevitably happen as windows writes every time you boot up. Some performance degradation may be inevitable so I am willing to format, secure erase & essentually "start over", every 6 months or so, so long as performance is restored.

Some side questions:

- Should I store windows on another drive? Does frequent windows loading degrade the performance of an SSD even with TRIM?
- Are there other options (other manufacturers: OCZ, patriot, etc.) wich I have overlooked, and have comparable speed and price?
- Will new SSD controllers come out in the near future that allow TRIM while the SSD is in an array?

Finally,

- A lot of these questions are vague, and might not have clear answers, so, what would you do in my place?