Tags:
  • Heatsinks
  • Cases
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
a b K Overclocking
May 17, 2010 11:22:22 PM

Greetings All,

I have been a system builder for about six years now; In total I have 5 builds under my belt. The purpose of this post is to help me decide on my next course of action regarding my next system build; I was thinking about using a WC loop for the CPU and video card(s). My intent is to use my existing case, a Lian Li v1000b, in this build if at all possible. This case has been a blast to own and most of the newer cases (even other Lian-Li) seem to lack the features I enjoy on this model.

New Hardware
Processor: I7-920 (minimal overclock if any)
Motherboard: Performance model, LGA 1366, triple channel memory, SLI supported
Video Cards: 1x GTX-470 or 480 for now, SLI in the future?
Memory: 6gb (3x2gb sticks) for now, Possibility of +6gb (12gb, 6x2gb total) in the future
Storage: 2tb (2x1tb) 7200 rpm, perhaps more in time.
Power Supply: 850-950 range (charts suggest 650w, single card or 870w, SLI)

Existing Hardware
Lian Li v1000b alumninum midtower case (tenative)

My Goal
I typically keep up with all the new technology and when reading about the new i7 chip and GTX-470/480 cards I am a bit worried about the heat they produce. I am thinking that a watercooling loop, combined with some new 120mm fans (delta w/ speed control perhaps) can keep temperatures reasonably low without me having to upgrade to a new case. The reason I suggest this is that watercooling seems to be the best way to manage heat with limited fan-mount real estate. The case I currently own has three 120mm fan mounts, one each on the front, side and rear. I can also manage to fit one more 120mm fan If I opt for a 3x5.25 drive to 120mm mount conversion kit.

What I've learned So Far