I a noob here with a silly question. I am running

2.20 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
256 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8V-VM SE Rev 1.xx
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
2048 Megabytes Installed Memory
NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE

I play WOW and my FPS was never great ~ 32 FPS average, with the expansion now it gets down in the single digits on occasion. Do you think that a newer video card would help out enough to verify the expense, or am I at the limit with CPU power, ram, etc..I am maxed out on board ram and do not want to replace just the board. Thanks for the help guys..and gals

Scott

A new graphic card will help you in WoW with your system. You'll still see low FPS (not as low as you have now) flying or in Dalaran, but overall performance should be pretty good. The Nvidia 7300LE is a very weak graphic card (locate it here in this handy graphic card hierarchy chart.)....way down on the left.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/best-graphics-card,2118-7.html

Your best bet is to use the HD4670 graphic card @$70, it uses very little power (only what your PCIex16 socket supplies) so no additional power from your power supply is required. (up on the right on the chart)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121274

Here's a review with benchmarks of different graphic cards including the HD4670 with recent games.
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/13157-games-christmas-08-gpu-performance-part-ii.html

hope this helps

boulard83

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2008
Dirt is right. ATI offer the best low budget card. Go for a 4670 and youll see a HUGE difference. or if you can, a 4830 or 9800gt is still better.

PSU ??

I assume that your vga card is weaker than your cpu. To validate that assumption, turn on the task manager, and verify that the cpu is not overly busy(like >75%).

For a value upgrade, look at this article: Best vga cards for the money jan 2009: