Sign in with
Your question

Advice needed - PC not booting, system files missing

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
March 17, 2009 2:23:29 PM

Hello,

I am not sure which forum to post this in, because I am truly having a problem that spreads through multiple issues. I want to preface this by saying I used to work in the IT field in 2002 and 2003 so please, you can use technical speak with me. I wouldn't post here unless I truly needed help.

Specs:

MB: Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 version 1.0
HD: Two 320gb SATA, set up on a RAID
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4600+ 2.4 GHz
Mem: 4 GB PC5400
PS: 550w (unsure of brand, I'm at work currently and not looking at it)
Video: 512mb nVidia 8500GT PCI-E

Last week my system would not boot into Windows XP. It simply kept trying to load at the Windows XP screen (with the blue bar moving below it), but it would not progress. I left it for about an hour, thinking maybe it would automatically run CHKDSK if there was an issue, but it didn't do anything. I reset the computer, and I get to the option to load it in safe mode. I select safe mode, and it scrolls through a bunch of startup files (I guess) that it's loading, and then it hangs. It does this repeatedly. I keep rebooting, trying safe mode again and again, with the same result.

Ultimately, I decide to start Windows normally. I receive an error during the bootup that says windows cannot load "windows/system 32/config.sys. This file may be missing or corrupt." It then tells me that I can attempt to repair the installation using the Windows XP CD by launching the recovery console.

So I do this; I load my raid drivers by pressing F6 during the setup so the console will recognize my hard drive. I finally get to the recovery console and it asks me which installation I want to repair. I tell it I want it to repair C:\Windows and it hangs. It does this another 3 times.