GA-EX58-UD5 and problems with SATA controllers

Videoopp

Distinguished
May 2, 2009
I am having problems with my SATA hard drives going off line intemitantly on my GA-EX58-UD5 motherboard. They usually come back within ten seconds or so, but as I am trying to use this as a video editing work station, it is rather anoying!

I have updated to the latest BIOS and SATA Controller drivers with no improvements.

Is it normal for the SATA drives to show up in the "Safely remove hardware" window? On other computers, only external devices show up here....

Any ideas on how to make my system more stable?

Thanks

Windows Vista Ultimate 64 with SP1 Build 6001
650W PS
6 G Memory

Videoopp

Distinguished
May 2, 2009
Yes, They are all Seagates.

Hmmm I have been using Segates in all my other builds for the last 8 years with no problems like this.... I think that A couple of these drives were pulled from abother system and they did not demonstrate this kind of issue in that system... What kind of Known firmware problems are you talking about?

Videoopp

Distinguished
May 2, 2009
Thanks for the links. The information was good to know about, but I believe that my problem is unrelated. This does not happen after a power off. This happens while the computer is still running.

If I was seeing a pattern, it seems to happen most often when the computer has been idle for a bit and I sit down to start working on a program that may still be running. Hard drives that are being used by the program, (other than the system drive) go off line, as though they were external drives that had been unplugged. After about 30 seconds they come back on line on their own, complete with the pop-up windows that you might expect to see after plugging in an external hard drive.

Again, I have to wonder, why are internal drives controlled by a internal controller, acting like external drives? Is this normal for Gigabyte SATA controllers? (It's been a while since I built a Gygabyte system)

Frank

bilbat