Solved

What should I do? RAID 0, 5, or 10?

OK, so I have lately been considering whether RAID 0, RAID 5, or RAID 10 should be my solution. But seeing as I have no experience whatsoever, please let me know what YOU would do.

Here is what I need:

I need extremely fast write speeds (which should be taken care of by the RAID array) between 5 and 13 MB a second (or 17 to 46 GB an hour).
I need quite a bit of space (at least 1 TB) which rules out SSDs
Money is a definitely a concern (I would really like to not have to spend more then 200 $ CAD, or 190 $ USD on this)
I definitely would like some redundancy because once I install the OS on my pc, I am going to take it to be tweaked and optimized at my work. This costs me 50 bucks and I would really like to not have to pay 50 bucks every time a hard drive fails
I already have a 300 gig HDD that I can put the OS on worst case scenario, but I would really rather put the OS on the RAID array so I can benefit from fast boot times and stuff

I like the idea of RAID 5, because then I save some money on drives compared to RAID 10, but it is also redundant. BUt I heard that RAID 5 offers little performance gain over a normal HDD.

If it helps at all, I plan on capturing HD video with Intensity Pro by Black Magic. (card version not the shuttle version)
http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/

Thank you very much in advance for your help.
7 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about what raid
  1. 5 - 13 MB/s is very easily achievable; there are plenty of people who exceed 100MB/s. If you're wanting to save money, RAID 10 is pretty much ruled out, as you need 4 disks for that. RAID0 requires 2 drives, and RAID5 can be done with 3 or 4 drives. RAID0 offers no redundancy whatsoever.

I think RAID1 or RAID5 would suit your application personally.

RAID1 requires two disks, but you only get the storage of a single disk.
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136592