Help Overclocking an Athlon II X4 635 Setup

diceK

Distinguished
May 23, 2010
This is my first time overclocking and I would like some help on:

What to expect with my setup, both in terms of temperature at idle and full load.

I went into BIOS and looked at my CPU temperature and left it there until it stopped rising. It went all the way up to 52C~ for the CPU and 45C~ for the mobo with the H50 cooling unit when I had no overclocking except to have the RAM settings properly set to 1600 from 1333. The H50 was installed in a push/pull configuration with the stock Corsair fan pushing at 1700 RPM and the stock case fan pulling at 800 RPM. I was unable to get any CFM information. Based on the numerous benchmarks and user experiences I gathered, this seemed completely unacceptable. I looked further into how accurate BIOS and software based temperature readings are, and the general consensus I got was that BIOS is reasonably accurate (by how many C's I don't know) and the CPU is idle while in BIOS. The stock fan actually idled at or below these numbers and I swapped to it, but I then noticed these numbers actually fall significantly when Windows was loaded (around 40C for the same measurements). I rebooted and looked at the BIOS and it seems this was confirmed as the temperatures showed similar numbers to the software based readings, but abruptly jumped around 20C as if the newest data fed to updated it to a much higher number. I have sent a support ticket to Corsair. I have also flashed the BIOS to the newest version since then, but have not checked the idle temperatures after discovering the huge discrepancies in the readouts with software and in-Windows operation as well as discretion between idle and full load temps.

I would like to know how hot I can expect the stuff to run but more importantly what numbers to trust and from what source.