Building budget i7, please give advice

xthekidx

Splendid
Dec 24, 2008
So I have never built my own system before, but I have spent a fair amount of time doing research on hardware. I will probably buy this through iBUYPOWER.com to avoid the headache of assembly and ordering each individual part. I have a friend who ordered through them and he was very happy with what he got. Here is what im thinking:

CoolerMaster CM 690 Gaming Tower Case
Coolermaster Real Power Pro 850w Power Supply
Certified CPU Fan and Heatsink
Asus P6T mobo (not the deluxe)
3 gb of DDR3-1333, will expand in the future
evga NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 260 216 shaders
500 GB HD, will add more later, thinking of going RAID 0 but 1 is good for now
LG 22X Dual Format/Double Layer DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive w/Lightscribe
3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
12-In-1 Internal Flash Media Card Reader/Writer
Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit
Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps PCI Adapter
Built in ethernet

I'm looking for feedback on my choices, whether or not I need to upgrade anything or if something is excessive. I want a computer that will be up to date and capable of running most games/apps for a few years to come for under $1600. This will be used for gaming/video editing, plus normal everyday computer use. Thanks for your input in advance!!

xthekidx

Splendid
Dec 24, 2008
I forgot to mention that I will most likely be adding another gtx 260 down the road when prices fall and games become more demanding. Thanks again for the advice in advance!

LOL, "budget i7" is an oxymoron. That's the most expensive approach to building PCs these days. The main culprit is DDR3 prices, followed by X58 prices.

I have no idea how much you're paying for each component at ibuypower.com, so it's hard to tell if you're getting decent deals or not.