Asus P6T Deluxe V2 - New build with boot problems?

MasterRaichu

Distinguished
May 6, 2009
Hi all.

I've been looking for a problem similar to mine on this board and others, and I'm stumped. I'm new at building machines, but I'm pretty tech savvy otherwise so I figured I'd give it a shot. I've built a video workstation for my freelancing business, but I'm having problems getting past the BIOS first boot. All parts on my build are brand new. Here are my specs:

built in an Antec Nine Hundred case:
Intel Core i7 940 (using stock cooler for now)
Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Mobo
OCZ Reaper PC15000 DDR3 1866MHz (6x2048)
PNY NVIDIA Quaddro FX 3800
Ultra X3 1000w PSU
Hitachi 1TB SERIAL ATA HD 7200/16MB/SATA-3G (x4, going to make 2 sets of RAID)
Lite On 6X Blu Ray ROM/ 16X DVDRW

Assembly was no problem. When I booted up for the first time, I was able to get to the BIOS menu with no issues, either. However, after setting specs in the bios (making my DVD Drive primary boot and configuring RAID), saving and rebooting, I get nothing but a black screen.

I am able to reset CMOS and get back to the first boot screen. But once I access it for the first time, save and reset, I get the black screen again. No splash screen, no anything. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I read somewhere that people were having issues when their hard disks were plugged into SATA Ports 5 and 6, so I specifically set all 4 of my hard disks in ports 1 through 4. Still having the same issue. I also tried starting up and not configuring RAID, but I'm having the same problem.

I realize that I have more disks in this build than most people will, so I'm wondering if its a problem specific to that, or whether it has anything to do with it at all? I'm at a loss for what to try next.

Has anyone ever had a motherboard just not function past the first boot? I'd love to know what I can try next, and any input would really be appreciated!

Thank you!

niteman11

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2009