First time builder... i7

ryankn852

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2008
Hey guys. Need some help deciding on a new computer... I'm a first time builder and have decided to go with i7... Be as harsh as you can be if I am mixing anything up or being stupid... I wanna make sure that this is all pretty good and is gonna work... And if you think I should change something up or just have an opinion PLEASE PLEASE do say so... That includes... brand... model... or make... or even things I should maybe wait for as the new year comes...

Mobo - GIGABYTE GA-EX58-EXTREME LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128361) (Is there a reason why I should go with the UD5 instead of extreme... Only a $40 dollar diff. figure I should go with the stronger one)

Video Card - SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102801)

CPU - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115202) (This is because I cannot afford the 2.93. Since I'm going with i7 would it be better to wait another month or so until I can get the 2.93 cpu?)

PSU - Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1000 1000W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371012) (Would it be ok to just go with the 850w instead? I would go with silverstone but thats alot more money)

Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136284)