Computer shuts down while playing games

Status
Not open for further replies.

camophile

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2009
Hi Everyone.. I will be the first to admit that I am not very experienced with hardware, and I hope you will be patient with me.

I recently decided to do my own semi-build (had the case, motherboard, CPU and PSU preassembled). Here are the specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo 8500 3.16ghz
4 GB Mushkin memory
Okia 550W ATX Power Supply w/ 6pin PCI-E
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3870 512MB GDDR4 PCI Express 2.0 x16

The issue I'm having is that when I'm playing a game (World of Warcraft and Second Life so far), the computer shuts down and restarts itself. Here's the weird thing -- when I first assembled the computer about a week and a half ago, I originally had the 6pin PCI-E from the PSU plugged directly into the video card. For some reason, this resulted in my computer shutting down within two minutes of playing WoW. I then decided to try switching some things around, and ended up using the PCI-E power plug that came with the card, and plugged it into another female plug inside. This seemed to have remedied the problem, as WoW hadn't shut down within a half hour of playing it. Yesterday, I was playing Second Life for probably about an hour and a half, and all of a sudden my computer shut down again. Talk about the agony of defeat! :cry:

Now, because of the nature of the problem, I'm seriously thinking that it is the PSU. I thought that maybe I could draw on some of your experience and see what you think before I go shell out some more money for another. Thanks in advance!

chiller

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2007
I think you may be right with the power supply, Okia - cannot say I have heard of them, thats why I am changing my colorit 550w power (cheap but been okay for 4 years) supply for a nice juicy Corsair 750w.

Kraynor

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2007
Pity it didn't take a few other parts with it, might have learned his lesson that way.