Win 7 install problems with new SSD

bukkythegnome

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2009
Hello everyone!

I just got the x25-m intel 80GB SSD as well as a copy of windows 7 64 bit ultimate.

I plugged it in next to my 1TB HD that has my current OS (win 7 RC (which is expired now, hence the upgrade)).

I then changed the SSD to the primary booting drive in the BIOS and attempted to install the new copy of windows 7, but the screen went all black after it was done, and I just sat there and waited for a while (prob 5-10 mins) because I read here that it may take a while to restart or something. But it never really worked.

Then me and my friend took the HDD out and put the SSD in its spot so it could be in the SATA 1 port, but it didn't really make a difference. Basically everything we try ends up with the black screen of death, so we don't really know what to do.

I searched these forums for a while and found problems similar to this but I couldn't find a solution

I'm not very experienced with all of this (obviously, lawlz) and I hope you guys can help me out!

Thanks!
Bukky

ps: when we get this to work I was planning to try and store my games on the HDD and then ghost them onto the SSD when i play them to conserve space (if im understanding that right?), I have heard mixed reviews about this tho so I was looking for some clarification, :D thanks!

Jonmor68

Distinguished
You must set the dvd rom as first boot, that's why you are getting nothing and leave the other drive disconnected untill you finish installing Windows. The instalation should take about 20 minutes.
As to your ps: forget it, just install the ones that you use most on the ssd, just don't overfill it, leave plenty of breathing room.
Don't forget Windows will need space for restore points, while these can be restricted, they can be usefull if things go pearshape.