Voltage: 1.8v vs 2.1v

goony20

Distinguished
May 1, 2009
I'm new to the overclocking gang, but I've read that 2.1v memory is basically overclocked memory straight from the retailer? Should I stay away from 2.1v and factory overclocked memory because it is already maxed out and could have problems due to the changed voltage? Should I just stick with low latency 1.8v memory?

Yes u have heard it right,2.1 is OC'd from the "The manufacture" there isnt any bad points in getting these RAMs.
Lower voltage makes the RAM work cooler but when u want to OC,its recommended to raise the voltage of the RAM,so with going with 2.1 Rams u may not need to raise but if u go with 1.8 then u may need to raise it to 2+

goony20

Distinguished
May 1, 2009
So, really there isn't any negatives to buying 2.1v? They can still be overclocked via other settings? How is the life on stock overclocked ram?

I agree about being cooler but not sure about better OC,because it really depends how much u can play with the settings :D

To OP,
Dont worry,there isnt any negative points in buying them :) and yes they can be more OC'd and also dont worry about the life either it will work for a long time :d

tilted

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2009
Hey - similar RAM in consideration, but different situation. I have a Gateway FX4710 with a stock G33-chipset motherboard, and I recently bought 2x2 GB RAM of two types: Patriot Viper DDR2-800 and OCZ HPC Reaper DDR2-800, both of which are rated at 4 CL at 2.1V. However, I wasn't aware that the motherboard's voltage is only set at 1.8v, and since it's a OEM, there's no way to change the voltage in BIOS. I've been having problems with crashes if I use the OCZ and Viper in all 4 slots, but not if I only use the OCZ in two slots OR if I use the OCZ with 2 sticks of my original 667 RAM (in which case all the RAM is running at 667 instead of 800).