Please Advise On Media System Build

bird_head

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2005
Hello, all.

I would like to build a new computer for the following purposes: digital music storage/playback through my home stereo amplifier/speakers, video playback with my HDTV, photo viewing/storage using the TV, web surfing and light to moderate game play. I do not need to watch/record television through this system, nor watch movies as I already have a good surround sound system and satellite TV HD tuner/recorder. I will use the VGA input on my TV and use as a monitor.

This will be my second build, so I have some experience and the first build turned out awesome and has given me several years of near perfect service.

I have chosen the following so far:

NZXT Apollo SILVER NP Silver SECC Steel Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
IOGEAR GKM541RA Silver/Black 104 Normal Keys 13 Function Keys USB RF Wireless Slim Keyboard & Mouse Combo, 33 ft max range
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (x2 for RAID 1 configuration)

How much CPU processing power should I seek and should I go Intel or AMD for this system?
What would be a good motherboard for the CPU recommended?
How much video processing power should I seek since I want to play games?
My HDTV has support for up to 1080i. Would it make sense to get a blu-ray writer, or go with something less?
How about PSU recommendations based on the other recommendations above?

Although I do not have a set budget, I would like to keep it as low as possible and meet my needs.

Thanks very much for the inputs.

Does your TV have HDMI or DVI inputs? If you're not sure you can list the make/model for us to check.

Will you be doing a lot of photo editing? Creating any home video? Those tasks might mean looking at a quad core cpu instead of a dual core CPU.